Archive for Annulment
Family Law Lawyer Colorado Springs Child Family Law
If you are in the middle of a separation, you need to understand about child family law in your state and how it will impact you. If your divorce involves children, it will be beneficial to know what the particulars will be in your situation says Family Law Lawyer Colorado Springs. These will be the most important decisions you face – it’s imperative that you learn all you can about child family law before you go to court or settle. What does child family law entail? Child family law incorporates everything from child custody, visitation, child support and more in relation to divorce, separation and annulment.
Are you concerned about child custody and visitation rights during and after your divorce is final? Typically, family courts will be dedicated to encouraging the family dynamic, promoting the presence of both parents whenever healthy for both the child and parent. The court will allow visitation schedules and share the rights of the child or children between the parents whenever possible. Whereas child family law used to favor the mother and would discourage a father from taking a child overnight because it could be “unhealthy” for the infant, the court’s position has shifted dramatically and mothers no longer have the law automatically on their side. Typically the courts now favor joint custody arrangements based on the importance of both parents’ presence around the children explain Family Law Lawyer Colorado Springs. Both parents have responsibility to support their children financially. When a divorce occurs and one parent has physical custody of the children, that parent’s responsibility is fulfilled by being the custodial parent. The other parent then makes a child support payment which fulfills that non-custodial parent’s financial responsibilities. In the case of joint custody, the amount of child support each pays is normally calculated by the court considering the percentage each parent contributes to the couple’s joint income and the percentage of time each parent has physical custody of the children.
Another aspect of the child family law is the payment and financial support of the children. It is in the interest of the courts to ensure that your children are well taken care of. The parents are equally responsible for the well-being of the child. If the mother takes primary custody of the child, for example, and does not have an income as large as her husband’s, she can petition for financial support through child support. Depending on what state you live in, you can get child support based on child family law. The law typically dictates that financial support will continue until the child is 18-years-old or 19-years-old (if still in high school). Child support is a topic which tends to polarize all parties involved. Although in some situations, mothers pay child support to custodial fathers, in the vast majority of cases, mothers are the custodial parents and non-custodial fathers pay child support says Family Law Lawyer Colorado Springs. So, how does the child support system work, and what does a father need to know in order to manage his obligations? The obligation to support a child is not conditioned by marriage. If you are a parent, you have responsibility to financially support your offspring. A permanent change in child support is often considered when income changes due to a remarriage, either parent has a job change that affects ability to pay, or the child involved has new and different needs than were contemplated when the original amount was set.
While this is the best arrangement for most kids, when dealing with an irrational, abusive or vindictive ex, it can make the child custody arrangements extremely difficult. In these cases, it’s imperative that you know about child family law because there are things you can do to make it easier on you and your kids. Concerns relating to child abuse are twofold. If you are being accused of child abuse, you can lose custody and visitation of your children indefinitely; where on the other hand, if your spouse or ex-spouse is physically, emotionally or sexually abusing your children, you will want to remove them from harm’s way. Contrary to what some abusive or vindictive people will have you believe, there is immediate help available if you leave your spouse and have no means to support them. Domestic violence forums are a great source of information on this as well as local domestic violence shelters. Learn more about how child family law works in your state to see how it will impact your future separation and divorce proceedings explains Family Law Lawyer Colorado Springs. If you are a victim of spousal abuse or if your children are victims of child abuse, a qualified attorney can help get you out of the dangerous situation. They can help you file any necessary restraining orders so your abuser can be ordered to stop the abuse. Your lawyer can also help you with the legal aspects pertaining to divorce, child custody and visitation. Making a mistake will only do more harm than good and it can continue to place your child in a dangerous situation or environment. If you were accused of child or spousal abuse, you will need legal representation as well. Unfortunately, parents are falsely accused of child abuse all the time. This is especially true in the cases of bitter breakups or contested divorces. Often times one parent will falsely accuse the other parent of physical or sexual abuse against themselves or their minor children in order to gain an edge in a child custody battle.
Family Law Lawyer Colorado Springs Child Family Law
Family Law Lawyer Colorado Springs A Guide to Marriage Laws
The Marriage License Laws for a man and a woman to marry vary from state to state. Although there are differences between the requirements in the various states, a marriage between a man and a woman performed in one state must be recognized by every other state under the Full Faith and Credit Clause of the United States Constitution. Because state laws in this area have been changing rapidly — many states have recently eliminated blood tests and or physical exams exclaim Family Law Lawyer Colorado Springs. You should check with your county marriage license bureau office or county clerk’s office before making any wedding or travel plans.
Requirements set by state law can include:
A marriage license issued by the county clerk or clerk of the court ; along with payment of a fee. Both man and woman are 18 or older, or have the consent of a parent or a judge if younger. Also, proof of immunity or vaccination for certain diseases. Many states have done away with mandatory premarital physical exams or blood tests. Some states still require for venereal diseases, and a few also test for rubella (also known as German Measles, a disease that is very dangerous to fetuses), tuberculosis, and sickle-cell anemia. A Couple may need proof of the termination of any prior marriages by death, judgment of dissolution (divorce) or annulment says Family Law Lawyer Colorado Springs. The Official New Bride Name Change Kit is an easy to use and efficient way for all new brides to handle all name changes to important documents. The kit contains everything you will need to change your name. Please remember that in order to change your name you must have your marriage certificate and you can only start the name change process after you have received your certificate of marriage.
If you’re planning to get legally married, there is one thing you must not forget – the marriage license. A marriage license is sort of a permit, kind of like a driver’s license. It says that you are legally allowed to marry, although obtaining one does not mean that you are married. The requirements for obtaining a marriage license vary from state to state. You should contact the local county clerk’s office in the county where you will be married for the most up-to-date information. Find out if there is a waiting period, and for how long marriage licenses are valid. You’ll likely need to apply in the week or two before your wedding. Most states require birth certificates, proof of citizenship and/or residence, and a driver’s license or other photo id say Family Law Lawyer Colorado Springs. If you have been widowed or divorced, you should bring along a copy of the death certificate or divorce decree. If there is a fee, you’ll probably need to pay it with a money order or cashier’s check, although some states are cash only.
It’s really not that complicated a process, but it seems so since the laws vary so greatly from state to state expresses Family Law Lawyer Colorado Springs. Here is an overview of what popular wedding destinations require. State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice. It is important that you verify all information with your local marriage license office or county clerk in the county where you will be married for the most up-to-date information.